Microscope image of tiny molecules

Division of Biosciences

The Division of Biosciences is a multidisciplinary basic science unit committed to research and teaching in the broad area of the biomedical sciences.

Currently, the division consists of more than 28 individuals, including ten (10) faculty members as well as postdoctoral fellows, graduate fellows, research assistants, research associates, research technicians and supporting staff. Together, the members of the division have the objective of providing the highest caliber academic environment for professional dental students, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows so that they may be able to conduct research at the forefront of craniofacial and cell sciences. This educational mission is achieved through instruction in integrated courses in molecular biology, biochemistry, physiology, immunology and microbiology. All faculty members within the division are engaged in active research programs and are funded by a variety of organizations, including the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Science Foundation. Faculty also take pride in providing service to a large and diverse number of local and national committees and professional organizations. Highlights include active roles on multiple study sections at NIH, participation on the editorial boards of several high-profile scientific journals, serving as officers of scientific societies, and numerous scientific presentations through out the world.