Ohio State Dental Journal

Collaborative Spirit

Students, Staff, and Faculty Celebrate “Collaborative Spirit” at American Dental Education Association’s Annual Session

By Rachel Kearney, ’05 BSDH, ’07 MS, Chair and Associate Professor,  Division of Dental Hygiene

The American Dental Education Association (ADEA) held its Annual Session in Chicago, Illinois, from March 16-19, 2019. The theme of the meeting was “Celebrating our Collaborative Spirit”. The Ohio State University College of Dentistry was well represented at the meeting as eight students, four staff, and sixteen faculty attended the meeting.

Students at ADEA
From left: Dana Akel, Sara Fadlalla
and Aida Ndiaye 

To begin the meeting, students Sara Fadlalla ’21 (DDS), Dana Akel ’20 (DDS), and Aida Ndiaye ’20 (DHY) attended the ADEA Student Diversity Leadership Program. This two-day program brought together emerging student leaders from diverse backgrounds to discuss advocacy and public policy in dental education and to develop their leadership skills. Six faculty and three students presented posters that showcased innovative initiatives and projects undertaken at the college. The posters ranged from topics on faculty development, interprofessional courses, and student leadership opportunities. In addition to poster presentations, Brian Partido, BSDH, MSDH, assistant professor in the Division of Dental Hygiene, was awarded the Olav Alvares Award for Early Career Scholars for his article in the Journal of Dental Hygiene.

Faculty in the college also contribute to the leadership of ADEA. Commencing with the conclusion of Annual Session, three College of Dentistry faculty will serve as chairs of councils and a section. Damian Lee, DDS, MS, assistant professor, Division of Restorative and Prosthetic Dentistry, will serve as the Chair of the Section of Prosthodontics; Gregory Ness, DDS, professor-clinical, Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Dental Anesthesiology, will take on leadership as the Chair of the Council of Advanced Education Programs; and Rachel Kearney, ’05 BSDH, ’07 MS, chair and associate professor, Division of Dental Hygiene, will chair the Council of Allied Program Directors. A fourth faculty member, Erin Gross, ’09 DDS, ’09 PhD, ’11 MS, assistant professor-clinical, Division of Pediatric Dentistry, will serve as the college’s representative on the Council of Faculties. The Council’s mission is to “represent and advocate for faculty and to promote excellence and collegiality within dental education and the oral health professions.”

The Ohio State University College of Dentistry contributed in varied ways to the ADEA Annual Session in 2019 and we continue to advance our work in dental education through participation in ADEA.