March 3, 2017

Annual Research Day Award Winners

Research Day at the College of Dentistry is an annual event that showcases research conducted by dental and dental hygiene students, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and residents. 

Recipients of the 2017 Research Day awards include the following:

Faculty ‘Paper of the Year’ Awards

Clinical Science Research

Hany Emam, BDS, MS; "Lateral tarsotomy: a practical alternative to lateral canthotomy to increase orbital access;" Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology, and Oral Radiology

Basic Science Research

John Sheridan, MS, PhD; "Sympathetic release of splenic monocytes promotes recurring anxiety following repeated social defeat;" Biological Psychiatry

Dean's Awards for Excellence in Research

Dental Student Award

1st place: Seth Nye, D3

2nd place: Aras Mortazavi, D4

3rd place: Katherine Seymour, D4

Graduate Student Award

1st place: Khaled Altabtbaei, Periodontology Resident

2nd place: Damon DiSabato, Neuroscience Doctoral Candidate; Comprehensive Training in Oral and Craniofacial Sciences Program

3rd place: Xiaoyu Liu, Oral Biology Doctoral Candidate

CTSA Best Clinical & Translational Abstract

Sukirth Murthy Ganesan, Oral Biology Doctoral Candidate

OSU ADA/DENTSPLY Student Clinician

Seth Nye, D3

Post-doctoral Fellow Award

Michael Weber, PhD; Post-doctoral Fellow, Comprehensive Training in Oral and Craniofacial Sciences Program

OSU Alumni Merit Award

Ayanna Williams, D3

OSU Alumni Achievement Award

Brian Santiago, DDS/PhD-Oral Biology Candidate