July 7, 2017

Awards Presented at Faculty Recognition Event

Purnima Kumar, BDS, MS, PhD
Hany Emam, BDS, MS
Brian Partido, 
Gabriela Weiss, DDS, MS
Susan Travers, PhD

On the evening of June 14, the college's full-time faculty members gathered for the annual Faculty Awards and Recognition celebration, held at the Blackwell Inn.

This year's award recipients included Purnima Kumar, BDS, MS, PhD, a professor in the Division of Periodontology, who received the Stazen Senior Faculty Award for the development of a successful research program. 

The Stazen Junior Faculty Award was presented to Hany Emam, BDS, MS, an assistant professor in the Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Dental Anesthesiology, for demonstrating exceptional promise in research.

The Larry J. Peterson Young Educators Award, which honors a faculty member who has taught for 1-3 years and has shown "exceptional enthusiasm for teaching," was presented to Brian Partido, BSDH, MS, an assistant professor in the Division of Dental Hygiene

Gabriela Weiss, DDS, MS, an associate professor-practice in the Division of Restorative Science and Prosthodontics, received the Postle Teaching Award in recognition of her dedication to instruction for the college's undergraduate, pre-doctoral, and graduate students.

The Fields Award, which is given to a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching and research, was presented to Susan Travers, PhD, a professor in the Division of Biosciences