July 8, 2019

Awards Presented at Faculty Recognition Event

On June 14, the college's full-time faculty members gathered for the annual Faculty Awards and Recognition celebration, held at the Faculty Club.


This year's award recipients included Anita Gohel, BDS, PhD, a Professor-Clinical in the Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology and Radiology, who received the Postle Teaching Award in recognition of her dedication to instruction for the college's undergraduate and pre-doctoral students.

Anita Gohel, BDS, PhD


The Fields Award, which is given to a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching and research, was presented to Melissa Drum, DDS, MS, a Professor in the Division of Endodontics. Dr. Drum also holds the Alfred W. Reader Endowed Professorship in Endodontics.

Melissa Drum, DDS, MS


Bryant Cornelius, DDS, MBA, MPH, an Assistant Professor-Clinical in the Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Dental Anesthesiology, received the Larry J. Peterson Young Educators Award, which honors a faculty member who has taught for 1-3 years and has shown "exceptional enthusiasm for teaching."

Bryant Cornelius, DDS, MBA, MPH