June 3, 2016

College Hosts Faculty Awards and Recognition Event

From left: Brian Foster, PhD; John Sheridan, MS, PhD; Erin Gross, DDS, MS, Phd, Nancy Clelland, DMD, MS; and Dawne Stefanick, DDS.

On the evening of June 1st, the college's faculty members gathered for the annual Faculty Awards and Recognition celebration, held at the Blackwell Inn.

This year's award recipients included John Sheridan, MS, PhD, a professor in the Division of Biosciences who received the Stazen Senior Faculty Award for the development of a successful research program. 

The Stazen Junior Faculty Award was presented to Brian Foster, PhD, an assistant professor in the Division of Biosciences, for demonstrating exceptional promise in the research field. 

The Larry J. Peterson Young Educator's Award, which honors a faculty member who has taught for 1-3 years and has shown "exceptional enthusiasm for teaching," was presented to Erin Gross, DDS, MS, PhD, an assistant professor  in the Division of Pediatric Dentistry. 

Dawne Stefanik, DDS, an assistant professor-clinical in the Division of General Practice and Materials Science, received the Postle Teaching Award in recognition of her dedication to instruction for the college's undergraduate, pre-doctoral, and graduate students.

The Fields Award, which is given to a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching and research, was presented to Nancy Clelland, DMD, MS, a professor in the Division of Restorative Science and Prosthodontics.