June 8, 2018

OKU Presents Awards and Welcomes New Members

The College of Dentistry's Theta Chapter of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) honor society recently welcomed this year's new members at a banquet that included the presentation of two student awards. 

The keynote speaker was Steven Gabbe, MD, Emeritus CEO of the Wexner Medical Center and Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Dr. Gabbe spoke about his leadership experiences and the wealth of opportunities available at Ohio State's health science centers.

The new D4 student inductees also were introduced:

  • Blake Chaney
  • Esther Chien
  • Nathaniel Frye
  • Richard Gray
  • Sookyon Lee
  • Victoria McLaughlin
  • Mary Mueller
  • Justin Runyon
  • Mattie Stowell
  • Adam Swan
  • Michael Vieth
  • James Zimmerman

The William S. Kramer Award of Excellence was presented to D3 Nathan Loughridge.  The Orville E. Russell Award of Excellence was given to D2 Brandon Mihalich.  Both students were honored for their demonstrated scholarship, outstanding character, and their potential for contributing to the advancement of dentistry and service to humanity.