April 4, 2015

Omicron Kappa Upsilon Presents Awards and Welcomes New Members

On April 2nd, the College of Dentistry's Theta Chapter of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) honor society welcomed this year's new members at a banquet that included the presentation of two student awards. 

Opening remarks were given by Ryan Nash, MD, the Director of The Ohio State University Center for Bioethics and Medical Humanities, who spoke about the vital role of ethics in the medical setting, and the ways that medicine, moral philosophy, and moral theology have an impact on patients. 

D4 student inductees:

  • William Alexander
  • Michael Border
  • Andrew Cantwell
  • Lo-Shen Chen
  • Alexandra Dahm
  • Ryan Durner
  • Marlee Hansen
  • Trenton Johnson
  • Eric Murnan
  • Kelly O'Brien
  • Mark Schibler
  • Stephen Spiritoso

Faculty inductees:

  • Melissa Drum, DDS, MS
  • Dan Reed, DDS

The William S. Kramer Award of Excellence was presented to D3 Lydia Lancaster, and the Orville E. Russell Award of Excellence was given to D2 David Eldredge. for demonstrating scholarship, character, and the potential promise for advancement of dentistry and service to humanity.