May 5, 2016

Omicron Kappa Upsilon Presents Awards and Welcomes New Members

On April 6th, the College of Dentistry's Theta Chapter of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) honor society welcomed this year's new members at a banquet that included the presentation of two student awards. 

The keynote speaker was Timothy Gerber, DMA, a professor at Ohio State's School of Music and the Secretary of the University Senate. Dr. Gerber spoke about the importance of the arts in education and leadership roles that provide opportunities to serve the university and local communities.

The new D4 student inductees:

  • Jarek Atwood
  • Jeremy Capetillo
  • ‚ÄčLeslie Crawford
  • Megan Fellows
  • Benjamin Kwok
  • Lydia Lancaster
  • Jordan Marshal
  • Matthew Mason
  • Eun Sang Moon
  • Cody Miller
  • Clare McGorry
  • ‚ÄčBrennan Skulski

Faculty inductee: Nancy Clelland, DMD, MS; Division of Restorative Science and Prosthodontics

The William S. Kramer Award of Excellence was presented to D3 Nicole GoettemoellerThe Orville E. Russell Award of Excellence was given to D2 Esther Chien. Both students were honored for their demonstrated scholarship, outstanding character, and their potential for contributing to the advancement of dentistry and service to humanity.