News Archive

May 2016

Faculty, staff, and students gathered at Ohio State's Longaberger Alumni House to recognize outstanding faculty at the 23rd annual Student Government Association Awards event.Read more
On April 6th, the College of Dentistry's Theta Chapter of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU) honor society welcomed this year's new members at a banquet that included the presentation of two student awards.Read more
Continuing its tradition of recognizing dental hygiene students who demonstrate outstanding leadership and academic excellence, the College of Dentistry's Zeta Chapter of the Sigma Phi Alpha honor society welcomed its newest members at a ceremony on April 6th.Read more

April 2016

On April 21, 2016, Bruce A. McPheron, PhD, Interim Executive Vice President and Provost , and Sheldon M. Retchin, MD, MSPH, Executive Vice President of Health Sciences and Chief Executive Officer of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, announced they are recommending the reappointment of Patrick M. Lloyd, DDS, MS, as Dean of the College of Dentistry.Read more
Dr. Fonda Robinson, the college's Associate Dean for Clinic Administration and Patient Care, has been appointed to a one-year term as a site visitor for the Commission on Dental Accreditation.Read more
Ms. Rachel Kearney, an Assistant Professor in the Division of Dental Hygiene, has been selected as a member-at-large for the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) Council of Allied Dental Program Directors.Read more
Members of the College of Dentistry chapter of the American Student Dental Association (ASDA) won the first-place award in the Pre-dental Recruitment Incentive category at ASDA's 2016 Gold Crown Awards ceremony.Read more
Prevalence An estimated 35,000 new cases of oral cancer will be diagnosed each year. Oral cancer will claim 7,600 lives annually. On average, 60 percent of those with the disease will survive more than five years. Oral cancer affects almost twice as many men as women. Risk Factors An estimated 25%...Read more

March 2016

On June 1, Lisa Lang, DDS, MS, MBA, will join the college as Chair of the Division of General Practice and Materials Science.Read more
Rodney Norris, a Youngstown, Ohio native and D1 student in the College of Dentistry, is the 2016 recipient of the Richard C. Veler, DDS, and Betty G. Veler Dental Scholarship.Read more